West Alabama Regional Commission


The West Alabama Regional Commission (WARC) is one of the 12 regional councils in the State of Alabama. The councils serve local governments and citizens by coordinating region-wide projects and services, promoting cooperation among the local governments, and carrying out state and federal programs on a regional basis. The West Alabama area is designated Planning District 2, or Region 2. The WARC encompasses Bibb, Fayette, Greene, Hale, Lamar, Pickens and Tuscaloosa counties.

The West Alabama Regional Commission is made up of representatives from the seven counties and 35 municipalities in Region 2. The council is governed by an executive committee and a board of directors.

The WARC receives its funding from federal matching grants, member government dues, an annual appropriation from the State of Alabama, and contract fees.

The scope of the commission's work includes economic and community development, transportation planning, nutrition and assistance programs for the elderly, a part-time employment program for low income senior citizens, technical assistance, tourism promotion, and public information.


Mailing Address
P.O. Box 509
Northport, AL 35476-0509

Physical Address
4200 Highway 69 North
Northport, AL 35473




Office Hours
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

WARC is an Equal Opportunity Employer